This One Will Be Sure to WoW You

Posted on November 21, 2010

0



I finally decided to take on World of Warcraft (WoW) with the help of my friend, Sean.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with this PC game, here’s a brief introduction.

For many people, WoW introduced them to MMORPGs, aka Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Games.  MMORPGs utilize the internet for players to connect, interact, and play with, or against, one another.  Think of it this way: the Internet is the video game, the PCs are the controllers, and all of the players get access to this one game world through their computers.

Easily the most popular subscription-based MMORPG around with over 12 million players, WoW was created by Blizzard Entertainment, who also released other successes such as Diablo I & II, Warcraft (I-III)Starcraft and Starcraft II.  In WoW, players can choose one of two sides: Alliance or Horde, and each one has different races (humans, dwarves, elves, just to name a few) to choose from.  Each side is also broken down into different servers which don’t overlap with one another. In other words, if you want to play friends, you have to create a character to play on their particular server.

There have been two expansions for WoW: The Burning Crusade (2007) and Wrath of the Lich King (2008).  Cataclysm is set to release December 7, 2010.

Because I do not play WoW for fear of it stealing my soul, I conducted an online interview with my friend and co-worker, Sean Lins, to give me an inside perspective on the World.

First off, tell me a little bit about yourself and WoW. When did you start playing, are you Alliance or Horde, what race of characters do you play, and what’s your highest level?

  • I started playing WoW just before the 1st expac, Burning Crusade. I have always been a gamer. Nintendo growing up and lots of systems after that. I have (over the last 3 years) gone more PC games than console. A lot of that has to do with my increasing interest in building and setting up computers. Hmm Ally or Horde. Lol. Honestly I play Both. I know…crazy huh? I like the Horde since many of my friends are if you need a specific side. The best thing about playing both is getting to see the differences in-game idealism. While Horde is very “We are the geeks but we are all banded together so we aren’t outcasts” and ally are the “justice for the good, punishment for the evil” So It is nice to get both sides of the story…its my Libra side.  I tend to have a variety of races I play, though Blood Elves tend to be one of my favorites.

How would you describe World of Warcraft to someone who has never played before?

  • Hmmmmmmmmmm……..It’s a game that allows you to be able to do many different things. Sometimes at once and sometimes separately. If you love the world and questing you can do that, If you like to hang out with friends you can do that…It’s like that old commercial Bo knows. Bo knows football Bo knows baseball Bo knows… in this case its WoW instead of Bo.

Obviously, WoW takes place in a fantasy world, and as with many fantasy worlds, they are heavily influenced by nature. In your opinion, what are a few things that really stick out in your mind as being nature-influenced?

  • WoW has a lot of heavy nature themes. As a matter of fact 2 of the classes you play are based with nature idealism. Shamans and Druids. Druids are masters of nature and shift to different animalistic forms where as Shamans deal with the elements and how to use those for different things. Some of the best stuff though is outside of the game. There is some great idealism in some of the book I’ve read recently. The latest books “Stormrage” and “The Shattering: A prelude to Cataclysm” Deal a lot with these two natured based classes and how some major chars live in harmony with it.
  • Also, the landscapes in game are amazing. While it features the harsh and fantasy ones, it also has jungles and deserts and huge landscapes. Also featured are weather patterns from small sandstorms to torrential downpours in some of the jungle spots.

Any other interesting stuff you’d like to share about WoW?

  • Other things…..well instead of a nature note a Green Conservation note…Recycle reduce reuse…oh wait that’s work.
  • This expac WoW has added digital downloads in addition to being able to buy a disk. This is great for the environment for a few reasons. One, it helps to cut down on created discs. If I uninstalled everything, I can use my latest disc to reupdate and install and don’t need the other 2 discs anymore. Do I throw them out? Do i keep ’em and let ’em clutter? With digital downloads I can stay online and save materials. Also WoW offered a digital pet that you could buy last year in which half the proceeds they made was donated to charity. $1.1 million was donated to Make-A-Wish Foundation after all was said and done. Not often you hear companies doing that.
Some screenshots Sean sent me:
 

Two of Sean’s Characters

Obviously, I did not cover everything there is to know about World of Warcraft- it’s a world too huge for one post, but for Nature’s Influence, WoW is a great example. If you have anything else that you believe fits into Nature’s Influence in regards to WoW, or something interesting to share, please do.

